USP announces newly elected Board of Trustees for the 2020-2025 cycle

Leadership group to chart organization’s course heading into its third century

Rockville, MD, June 25, 2020 – The U. S. Pharmacopeia (USP) announced today the members of its Board of Trustees who will guide the implementation of the organization’s priorities for its five-year cycle from 2020-2025.

The Board members were elected by USP Convention Members, a diverse group of 493 leading health and science organizations from around the world. Comprised of distinguished leaders from the medical, pharmacy, regulatory, patient advocacy and healthcare provider communities, Board members begin their roles on July 1, 2020 and will provide oversight of USP’s finances and strategic direction and guide the organization into its third century.

“While 2020 marks USP’s 200th anniversary, a global pandemic and massive transformation in healthcare are revealing in real time how the interconnection of USP’s standards setting, advocacy and capability building work is critical to the public’s trust in safe, quality medicines around the world,” said Ronald T. Piervincenzi, Ph.D., CEO of USP. “We will be relying on the expertise and leadership of the Board to help USP to harness the opportunities to improve public health and to address the challenges ahead, including supply chain vulnerabilities, new medicines modalities, the increasing digitalization of healthcare, and others.”

The members of the 2020-2025 Board of Trustees are:

  • Todd K. Abraham, Ph.D., M.B.A. (Treasurer), Chief Innovation Officer, The Cronos Group
  • Gregory E. Amidon, Ph.D. (Pharmaceutical Sciences Trustee), Research Professor of Pharmaceutical Sciences, University of Michigan, College of Pharmacy
  • Gwen Darien (Public Trustee), Executive Vice President for Patient Advocacy and Engagement, National Patient Advocate Foundation
  • Dennis E. Doherty, M.D. (USP Convention President), Professor of Medicine, Professor Emeritus, University of Kentucky College of Medicine
  • Richard J. Gilfillan, M.D., M.B.A. (At Large Trustee), retired President and CEO, Trinity Health
  • Jesse L. Goodman, M.D., M.P.H. (Medical Sciences Trustee), Professor of Medicine, Georgetown University
  • Thomas Menighan, B.S.Pharm., M.B.A., Sc.D. , F.A.Ph.A. (At Large Trustee), retired Executive Vice President and Chief Executive Officer, American Pharmacists Association (APhA)
  • Stephen Ostroff, M.D. (Medical Sciences Trustee), Public Health and Regulatory Consultant, S. Ostroff Consulting
  • Julio Sánchez y Tépoz, M.Scs., J.D. (At Large Trustee), Co-Founder and President, ALó ProScience (Latin American Association of Regulatory Affairs Professionals)
  • Susan C. Winckler, R.Ph., J.D. (Pharmaceutical Sciences Trustee and Board Chair), CEO, Reagan-Udall Foundation for the FDA

About USP
USP is an independent scientific organization that collaborates with the world's top experts in health and science to develop quality standards for medicines, dietary supplements, and food ingredients. Through our standards, advocacy and education, USP helps increase the availability of quality medicines, supplements and food for billions of people worldwide. For more information visit

About the USP Board of Trustees (2020-2025)

Todd K. Abraham, Ph.D., M.B.A. (Treasurer)
A returning USP Board member, Dr. Abraham will apply his wealth of strategic planning and finance experience to his role as treasurer of the Board of Trustees, helping ensure USP’s future longevity and financial stability. Dr. Abraham is the Chief Innovation Officer at the Cronos Group.

Gregory E. Amidon, Ph.D. (Pharmaceutical Sciences Trustee)
A returning USP Board member, Dr. Amidon joined the University of Michigan, College of Pharmacy as Research Professor of Pharmaceutical Sciences after 28 years in the pharmaceutical industry. He has served in numerous leadership roles for the American Association of Pharmaceutical Scientists as well as USP.

Gwen Darien (Public Trustee)
Ms. Darien is a longtime patient advocate who has held leadership roles in some of the country’s preeminent nonprofit organizations: National Patient Advocate Foundation, Samuel Waxman Cancer Research Foundation, and National Human Genome Research Institute. A three-time cancer survivor, she started the first standalone advocacy entity in a professional cancer research organization at the American Association for Cancer Research.

Dennis E. Doherty, M.D. (USP Convention President)
Dr. Doherty is an academic pulmonologist. His positions in academic medicine and professional societies along with 20+ years as a volunteer member of USP’s standard setting expert committees provide Dr. Doherty with a breadth of perspectives to help guide the USP Convention in the next five years.

Richard J. Gilfillan, M.D., M.B.A. (At Large Trustee)
Recently retired CEO and President of Trinity Health, Dr. Gilfillan was the first Director of the Center for Medicare & Medicaid Innovation and the former President and CEO of Geisinger Health Plan. Beginning his career as a family physician, he will use his 30+ years of medical and business leadership experience to further USP’s work to improve healthcare systems in the US and around the world.

Jesse L. Goodman, M.D., M.P.H. (Medical Sciences Trustee)
A returning USP Board member, Dr. Goodman is the Director of the Center on Medical Product Access, Safety and Stewardship and attending physician at Georgetown University and DC Veterans Administration Hospitals. His experiences as a practicing clinician and knowledge gained during his tenure at FDA have given Dr. Goodman insights on balanced, collaborative approaches to regulations keeping our drug and food supply safe and effective. At FDA, Dr. Goodman served as FDA’s Chief Scientist, directed FDA’s Center for Biologics Evaluation and Research and was a Senior Advisor to the Commissioner. Dr. Goodman was the President of the USP Convention during the 2015-2020 cycle.

Thomas Menighan, B.S.Pharm., M.B.A., Sc.D., F.A.Ph.A. (At Large Trustee)
Dr. Menighan recently retired from his position as Executive Vice President and CEO of APhA, the oldest, largest, and most diverse pharmacists’ organization in America. With 40 years of volunteerism (20 of those years with USP) he views his role as an At Large Trustee as an opportunity to foster continued collaboration across the diverse organizations to advance public health.

Stephen Ostroff, M.D. (Medical Sciences Trustee)
Dr. Ostroff has held numerous leadership positions with FDA and served as acting FDA Commissioner on two occasions. Prior to joining the FDA, Dr. Ostroff was Deputy Director of the National Center for Infectious Diseases at CDC.

Julio Sánchez y Tépoz, M.Scs., J.D. (At Large Trustee)
Mr. Sánchez y Tépoz is the former head of Mexico’s medicines regulatory agency, Federal Commission for the Protection against Sanitary Risks (COFEPRIS). He has more than 20 years of experience in regulatory agencies in the Mexican government. He currently leads the international nonprofit academic organization, ALó ProScience, a Latin American association of regulatory affairs professionals.

Susan C. Winckler, R.Ph., J.D. (Pharmaceutical Sciences Trustee)
A returning USP Board member and currently the Board Chair, Ms. Winckler is a pharmacist and attorney by training. Ms. Winckler is the former Chief of Staff for the Food and Drug Administration (FDA) within the Department of Health and Human Services and former President and CEO of the Food and Drug Law Institute. She is currently the CEO of the Reagan-Udall Foundation for the FDA.