USP Announces the 2015–2020 Board of Trustees


CONTACT: Theresa Laranang-Mutlu

USP Convention 2015Rockville, Md., April 27, 2015 — Distinguished leaders in the fields of medicine, pharmaceutical science, global health, and healthcare policy comprise the 2015–2020 Board of Trustees of the United States Pharmacopeial Convention (USP). The members of the Board were elected by Delegates at the USP Convention Meeting on April 22–25, 2015, in Washington, D.C. ( The theme of the meeting was USP and You: Shoulder to Shoulder on the Path to Improve Global Health.

“As USP works to fulfill its mission in new and exciting ways, having the strong and talented leadership of individuals like our newly-elected Board members will be vital to our success,” said Dr. Ronald T. Piervincenzi, Chief Executive Officer of USP. “On behalf of our organization, I am honored to introduce such a distinguished group of leaders from a wide range of disciplines and professions as fellow members of the 2015–2020 Board of Trustees.”

Entrusted with the organization’s stewardship for a five-year cycle, the Officers (Past President, President, and Treasurer) and Trustees together comprise USP’s Board of Trustees. The Board will make decisions guiding USP’s policies, finances and strategic direction as the organization’s efforts expand in areas such as standards modernization, biologics, food ingredients, dietary supplements, compounding, and global health.

The Board members have been chosen for their forward-looking, strategic thinking and ability to effectively govern the organization. They are:

Jesse L. Goodman, M.D., M.P.H.

John E. Courtney, Ph.D.

Medical Sciences Trustees
Robert J. Meyer, M.D.
Stephen P. Spielberg, M.D., Ph.D.

Pharmaceutical Sciences Trustees
Gregory E. Amidon, Ph.D.
Marilyn K. Speedie, Ph.D.

Public Trustee
Laura Herman, M.B.A., M.A.

At-Large Trustees
Thomas R. Temple, B.S. Pharm., M.S., FAPhA
Gail R. Wilensky, Ph.D.
Susan Winckler, R.Ph., J.D.

Past President
Timothy R. Franson, B.S. Pharm., M.D.

Chief Executive Officer
Ronald T. Piervincenzi, Ph.D.